Skip to product information
1 of 2

The Vinyl Whistle

The Charlatans - A Head Full Of Ideas

The Charlatans - A Head Full Of Ideas

Regular price $46.00
Regular price Sale price $46.00
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

x3 LP Limited Deluxe - New. Release Date: 15/10/21 Opaque Vinyl

*Only one purchase per customer*

Genre: Indie

THE CHARLATANS proudly announce their (Covid) delayed release of their 30th Anniversary tour and a 6 vinyl LP Box Set. Released on Then Recordings through Republic Of Music, ‘A Head Full Of Ideas’ is a five album, and exclusive 7”, career-spanning box set that sums up their remarkable progress from 1990 Manchester scene hopefuls to one of the UK’s most enduring and best-loved bands. The accompanying tour begins at Belfast, Limelight 22/11/21 and finishes in Aberdeen on 20/12/21.

The band have notched up 13 Top 40 studio albums - three of them number ones - alongside 22 hit singles, four of them top 10. The rollercoaster highs have been accompanied by some shattering lows, any which one of them could have felled a less resilient band, from nervous breakdowns to near bankruptcy and the deaths of two founder members

Somehow, they have not just carried on but adapted and transformed. The classic Charlatans sound - driving Hammond organ, Northern Soul and house-influenced rhythms, swaggering guitars and Tim Burgess’s sunny yet somehow yearning vocal - is instantly recognisable. And in spite of everything they have been through their music is now more relevant than ever, The Guardian described their last album, Different Days as “one of their best ever”.

This limited box set, is a diverse collection portrayed over five Transparent blue vinyl LP’s, spanning their hits, classic live performances, unheard demo’s and rarities and remixes. Within the box will also be an exclusive Original Demo’s 7” featuring ‘Indian Rope’/’The Only One I Know’, as well as a signed print of a tour poster from the early 90’s, a booklet featuring unseen photographs and sleeve notes by friend and journalist Dave Simpson. There will also be triple vinyl LP version and 2CD deluxe of the box set featuring the hits albums plus the live album, and finally a cd or vinyl of just the hits albums.

Their iconic and hugely adored live track One To Another (circa 1997) provides the titles for the individual vinyl collection within the box set. Each piece of vinyl is named after a lyric from the song.



A1) The Only One I Know
A2) Weirdo
A3) Can’t Get out of Bed
A4) Jesus Hairdo
A5) Just When You’re Thinking Things Over
A6) North Country Boy
B1) Tellin’ Stories
B2) One to Another
B3) How High
B4) Impossible
B5) Forever
C1) Love is the Key
C2) A Man Needs to be Told
C3) Up at The Lake
C4) Blackened Blue Eyes
C5) Oh Vanity
D1) My Foolish Pride
D2) Come Home Baby
D3) Let the Good Times be Never Ending
D4) Plastic Machinery
D5) Totally Eclipsing


A1) Polar Bear (Blackburn, King Georges Hall. November 1990 - BBC Radio 1)
A2) Indian Rope (Reading Festival 1992 - BBC Radio 1)
A3) Can’t Even Be Bothered (Reading Festival 1992 - BBC Radio 1)
A4) Can’t Get Out of Bed (Glasgow Tramway, Sound City 1994 - BBC
A5) I Never Want an Easy Life (If Me and Him Were Ever to Get There)
(Glasgow Tramway, Sound City 1994 - BBC Radio1)
B1) Then (Glastonbury Festival 1995 - BBC Radio 1)
B2) Here Comes a Soul Saver (Hultsfred Festival, Sweden 1997)
B3) My Beautiful Friend (Delamare Forest, Cheshire 2007)
B4) The Blind Stagger (Delamare Forest, Cheshire 2007)
B5) Sproston Green (Reading Festival 1999 - BBC Radio 1)


A1) C’mon C’Mon (Demo Version)
A2) Sleepy Little Sunshine Boy (Desk Mix Version)
A3) Dardanella (Demo Version)
A4) So Oh (Demo Version)
A5) Always on my Mind (Demo Version)
B1) Everybody Ha Ha (Demo Version)
B2) Commuter Computer (Demo Version)
B3) Crystal Eyes (Demo Version)
B4) Polar Bear (Demo Version)
B5) I Need You To Know (Demo Version)


A1) Plastic Machinery (Sleaford Mods Remix)
A2) Nine Acre Dust (Chemical Brothers Remix)
A3) So Oh (Brian Jonestown Massacre Remix)
A4) Tellin’ Stories (The Go! Team Remix) **unreleased**
B1) Trouble Understanding (Norman Cook Remix)
B2) My Beautiful Friend (Jagz Kooner Remix)
B3) Hey Sunrise (The Orb Remix) **unreleased**
B4) You’re So Pretty, We’re So Pretty (Lo Fidelity Allstars Remix)


A1) Indian Rope (Demo)
AA1) The Only One I Know (Demo)


The Vinyl Whistle uses Royal Mail for national and international deliveries.

For UK deliveries, please allow up to 7 business days for delivery; expected delivery usually between 3 - 5 days. Delivery outside of the UK may take longer, please allow up to 15 business days for delivery; expected delivery is between 5 - 10 days.

We only do Signed deliveries for domestic UK orders, and Tracked deliveries for international orders with Royal Mail to ensure safe and quicker delivery of your orders.


Please note, The Vinyl Whistle accepts no responsibility for any package which is damaged, lost or stolen during transit. Compensation for damage or loss should be pursued through the claims procedure offered by the Royal Mail - contact us if you need help with this.

Return policy

Please contact

We want you to be happy with your purchase from The Vinyl Whistle. If for some reason you are not entirely satisfied with the goods or service you receive, we ask that you contact us directly in order to resolve the issue.


Please be mindful of the possible age of some of our used vinyl when considering its condition.

Instore - Tickets & Events

If you have purchased a pre-order as entry to one of our instore gigs, you will be able to collect the vinyl or CD on the day of the event and get it signed by the performer or band.

We won't be printing tickets for this, please use your email order confirmation for entry.

View full details